Step, Step, Side to Side

dancingfeet.jpg

So maybe I’m just a little slow on the uptake, but I was recently made aware that R. Kelly‘s Step in the Name of Love off of his Chocolate Factory contains a coordinated dance.  On my way out from Terence and Catherine’s most excellent going away party at AmCaf I had to pass through another private party where everyone clearly knew this dance.  I’m a little fuzzy on the details, but somewhere between the curtain separating the two parties and the coat check, a nice young lady decided to teach me the dance.  I’m lacking video of the vision of grace that I’m sure I was but, like all good coordinated dance song singers, Mr. Kelly gives us the directions:

step step side to side
round and round dip it down
separate bring it back
now let me see you do the love slide (yeah)

(dance) step step side to side
round and round dip it down
separate bring it back
now let me see you do the love slide

(step) step (step) step (step) side to side
round and round dip it down
separate bring it back
now let me see you do the love slide

Rinse .  Repeat.

Leave a Reply

