And Fold’em All Night Long ‘Till I Got Me a Hand

Last night marks my first ever Texas Hold’em tournament victory. I have minimal poker skills but I’ll still take some credit for the victory. It was the first time I was able to consistently avoid betting just out of the temptation to make something on the flop and, perhaps more importantly, started reading the community cards for what they meant for the other players making hands rather than just my making a hand. Basically, players 5, 4, and 3 went out on account of the blinds and I was lucky enough to make a gut shot draw to break number 2 when he went all in.

Incidentally, this posting’s title comes from the Corb Lund (of Corb Lund and the Hurtin’ Albertans fame) song “Gonna Shine Up My Boots” which I first got turned on to from it’s being featured in the horror-comedy Slither. Two chords, alternating bass notes, and pure genius.

Leave a Reply

