Fare Thee Well Gone Away, There’s Nothing Left to Say

When I made up my New Year’s mix back in December I was conflicted about whether or not to include any songs I didn’t see live. I had seen more live music than you can shake a stick at this year and in the end decided to go all live all the time. One of the casualties of this decision, however, was the great Pogue’s song, “The Body of An American.” I first encountered this song on an episode of season 3 of HBO’s the wire during the “detective’s wake” for Cole, a Baltimore Police Department homicide detective. The intro into the song and seeing all the police, black and white, male and female, raucously sing along to the song has got to be one of my favorite TV/music moments of all time. There’s a reprise in season 4 but it’s not nearly as potent.

One response to “Fare Thee Well Gone Away, There’s Nothing Left to Say

  1. Yup. Baltimore PD knows how to send a police off right.

Leave a Reply

