Another Country

another-country-cover.jpg

 

Tift Merritt’s third album, Another Country, drops today. Considering how much I liked hearing her new songs at her solo acoustic performances recently (reviews here and here) I’m impressed how much I like the full band versions. There’s a little less emphasis on her voices, but overall the band helps to set the mood without being too intrusive. “Another Country” works well with a harmony part while “Morning is My Destination” and “Keep You Happy” are evocative of the wonderful arrangements on Bramble Rose.

2 responses to “Another Country

  1. Newsweek featured this album in it’s “Read,” “See,” “Listen,” etc. blurbs this week. I felt informed for knowing about it before then.

  2. I clicked sumbit right as I saw that I misspelled “its” as “it’s” above, and shouted “nooooo!” (well, whispered loudly, babies are sleeping).

Leave a Reply

