The Body of an Irish Band

I went to see the Pogues in DC several months ago.  I was so excited for the show that I spent over 10 hours on a bus for fewer than 24 in the city for the show.  I’m not sure I’ve every been so disappointed.  At least when I paid an arm and a leg for Jerry Lee Lewis to play for only 30 minutes he had these moments that were just wild and, frankly, it was a thrill to be in the same room as one of the originators of Rock and Roll.  I had forgotten about the slurring McGowan and underwhelming performance until Matt of The Sound of Blackbirds sent along this tidbit from No Depression which reflects a similar experience.  In referring to their 1987 album If I Should Fall From Grace with God, notes that “[t]hey had never been this good before — and, alas, they would never be again.”  It’s sad to know that their declining performances don’t seem to have rebounded in twenty years.

Leave a Reply

